American Southwest

Screen Shot 2019-04-28 at 4.52.31 PM
Saturday, March 16
Austin > Lubbock  373 miles

Microtel Inn https://www.wyndhamhotels.com/microtel/lubbock-texas/microtel-inn-and-suites-by-wyndham-lubbock/overview

Sunday March 17

Lubbock > Santa Fe  313 miles
• Swing by Prairie Dog Town (take a snack for the prairie dogs!) https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g56208-d1962913-Reviews-Prairie_Dog_Town-Lubbock_Texas.html
• Lunch on the road
• If in Fort Sumner, Bosque Redondo Memorial https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/bosque-redondo-memorial

• Dwan Light Sanctuary in Las Vegas, NM https://www.uwc-usa.org/about-us/our-campus/the-dwan-light-sanctuary/

El Rey Court  http://www.elreycourt.com

  • Dinner with friends


Monday, March 18

Santa Fe > Ghost Ranch  60 miles

https://www.ghostranch.org/

 

Tuesday, March 19

Ghost Ranch > Monument Valley  304 miles
• 4 Corners Monument (NM, AZ, CO, UT) https://navajonationparks.org/tribal-parks/four-corners-monument/

The View Hotel  http://monumentvalleyview.com/

  • Dinner at The View Restaurant

http://monumentvalleyview.com/the-view-hotel/dining/

Wednesday, March 20

Monument Valley > Grand Canyon 156 miles
• Lunch at Cameron Trading Post https://www.camerontradingpost.com/restaurant.html

3-5pm 2 hour Bike Rental at Grand Canyon (1 mile from hotel)  
http://bikegrandcanyon.com/  

Yavapai Lodge https://www.visitgrandcanyon.com/

Thursday, March 21

Grand Canyon > Sedona  109 miles
• Lunch at Wildflower Bread Co. https://www.wildflowerbread.com/menu/
• Chapel of the Holy Cross – Energy Vortex! https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/chapel-of-the-holy-cross
• Crystal shopping and Center for the New Age!  https://sedonanewagestore.com/

Star Motel  https://www.starmotelsedona.com/
Friday, March 22

Sedona > Pie Town > Truth or Consequences 429 miles

  • Montezuma Castle if we feel like it (27 miles South of Sedona)  

https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/montezuma-castle-national-monument

Pelican Spa Hotel in Truth or Consequences (Hot spring soaking tubs) https://www.pelican-spa.com/

Saturday, March 23

Truth or Consequences > Hatch > White Sands > Van Horn 239 miles

El Capitan Hotel http://www.thehotelelcapitan.com/

 

Sunday, March 24

Van Horn > Austin 456 miles